TikTok has taken the world by storm, bringing its short, snappy content to the masses. With the social media platform’s seemingly unlimited amount of clips, and an algorithm that perfectly finds the best video for your taste, it’s easy to get lost on TikTok for hours.
For some people, that’s part of the fun. For others, this can become a problem. It may leave them feeling like they need to move away from the app for a temporary or permanent basis.
If you plan on returning to TikTok, you can always just delete the app from your device. But if you want to drop TikTok for good, you can easily delete your account.
Here is everything you need to know about deactivating your TikTok account, how to do it, and the risks involved.
How to delete a TikTok account
Be warned, once a TikTok account is deleted, it’s gone for good. Here is a list of what will happen if you choose to delete your account.
- You will no longer be able to log in to TikTok with that account.
- You will lose access to any videos you have posted.
- You will not be able to get a refund on any items you have purchased.
- You will no longer have access to your personal message history. However, the chat messages you sent to others may still be visible to them.
Still interested in pulling the plug? Here’s how to delete your TikTok account.
- Open the TikTok app and navigate to the Me tab in the bottom right of the main screen.
- Next, find the “…” section, located in the top right corner. Select this to open the next menu.
- From here choose “Manage Account” and then “Delete Account.” This will bring up a list of instructions within the app.
- You’ll need a phone number connected to your account to complete the process. If you don’t have one, go back a step to your account screen and add one.
- Select the button to delete your account, and verify the code sent to your connected mobile phone.
- If you’re sure you want to permanently delete your account, select the delete account option one more time. The process will then be complete.
After this step, your account will be temporarily deactivated. If you change your mind, you’ll have 30 days to log in and reactivate your account before it is removed for good.
If you choose to let these 30 days run up, you’ll need to register a new account.